Local TRIUMPH Committee

Additional Local Triumph Committee Documents

To view additional supporting documents, please visit the Document Center and access the Local Triumph Committee folder.


Click to Visit My Florida Triumph

Triumph Site


Triumph Gulf Coast, Inc., is a nonprofit corporation organized to oversee the expenditure of 75 percent of all funds recovered by the Florida attorney general for economic damages to the state that resulted from the 2010 Deepwater Horizon oil spill. Triumph Gulf Coast, Inc., is required to administer the distribution of the funds to be used for the recovery, diversification, and enhancement of the eight Northwest Florida counties disproportionately affected by the oil spill. Those counties include Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Bay, Gulf, Franklin and Wakulla.

Triumph Gulf Coast was originally created in 2013. The first five board members were appointed by the Governor, the Attorney General, the Chief Financial Officer, the President of the Senate, and the Speaker of the House of Representatives. The board operated in an unofficial capacity until June 2017.

On June 2, 2017, Governor Rick Scott signed the legislation that officially appropriated funds to the nonprofit corporation. The original board then took immediate steps to file official Articles of Incorporation and arrange for the transfer and acceptance of the first $300 million from the oil spill settlement to investment accounts under the control of Triumph Gulf Coast, Inc. On June 30, 2017, the final two board members were appointed from two of the four least populated counties, as required by the new legislation.

For more information about Triumph Gulf Coast, Inc. please contact:

Susan Skelton - Triumph Executive Director

Scott A. Remington, Esq. - Triumph Legal Counsel

Local TRIUMPH Committee Members

  • District 1 Appointee – Gus Andrews
  • District 2 Appointee – Juliet Milam
  • District 3 Appointee – Bill Fletcher 
  • District 4 Appointee – Bob Brooke
  • District 5 Appointee – Bonnie McQuiston
  • City of Freeport Representative ‑ Mayor Russ Barley
  • City of DeFuniak Springs Representative - Ron Kelley
  • City of Paxton Representative - Mayor Hayward Thomas
  • Sheriff’s Office Representative– Major Joe Preston
  • School Board Representative‑ Kim Kirby
  • Northwest Florida State College Representative ‑ Jeremy Goss


Northwest Florida FORWARD is a regional strategic initiative focused on driving economic vitality and growth in the Florida Panhandle. The regional strategy is based upon grassroots input and is supported and implemented by local government, business, educational and community leaders from across the region. A steering committee, consisting of representatives from five key regional organizations in Northwest Florida, drives strategy development and implementation, and supports the efforts of Council Chairs and their members as they build a diverse and vibrant regional economy.